How to add Secure Delete to Recycle Bin context menu in Windows 10

How to add Secure Delete to Recycle Bin context menu in Windows 10

The Recycle Bin provides a safe place to temporarily store deleted files or folders. When you delete any of these items from your hard drive, Windows places it in the Recycle Bin and the Recycle Bin icon changes from empty to full.

This guide will show you how to add Secure Delete to the Recycle Bin context menu for all users in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10.

Note : Although you must be logged in as admin to add or remove the context menu, all users can use the context menu.

The first time you use the context menu, SDelete may prompt you to agree to the license terms before proceeding. You won’t see this prompt afterward.

Add Secure Delete to Recycle Bin context menu

1. Download the latest SDelete version by Mark Russinovich from Microsoft Sysiternals.

2. Save the SDelete.zip file to your desktop.

3. Unblock the downloaded SDelete.zip file.

4. Open the SDelete.zip file .

5. Open the C: Windows System32 folder in a separate File Explorer ( Win + E ) window.

6. Copy and paste (drag and drop) the sdelete.exe file from SDelete.zip to the C: Windows System32 folder.

Copy file sdelete.exe from SDelete.zip
Paste the file into the C: Windows System32 folder

7. When prompted, click Continue for approval.

Click Continue to approve

8. Now, you can close all ZIP windows and File Explorer if you want.

9. Download the file Add_Secure_Delete_to_Recycle_Bin_context_menu.reg.

10. Save the .reg file to the desktop.

11. Double click on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

12. When prompted, click Run> Yes (UAC)> Yes> OK to approve the merge.

13. Now, you can delete the downloaded .reg file if you want.

Delete Secure Delete from the Recycle Bin context menu

This is the default setting.

1. Download the file Remove_Secure_Delete_from_Recycle_Bin_context_menu.reg.

2. Save the .reg file to the desktop.

3. Double-click the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

4. When prompted, click Run> Yes (UAC)> Yes> OK to approve the merge.

5. Now you can delete the downloaded .reg file if you want.